Current Board of Directors


President: Karen Cox (Sea & Ski Realty)

Vice President: Margot Byers (Ladybird Garden Design)

Treasurer: Tom Allwood (Shady Lanes)

Secretary: Darrin Patey (Protosource Product Development)

Recording Secretary: Talisa Haskins (The Journey Counselling & Psychotherapy)


Julia Agar (Brilliant Bread)

Tom Allwood (Shady Lanes)

Margot Byers (Ladybird Garden Designs)

Miguel Cardenas (Schooley Mitchell of Grey Bruce)

Karen Cox (Sea & Ski Realty)

Talisa Haskins (The Journey Counselling & Psychotherapy)

Reuben McCallum (Harmony Ridge)

Tracy Nietvelt-Prentice (The Market Shoppe)

Darrin Patey (Protosource Product Development)

Lynn Silverton (Flesherton & District Farmers’ Market)

Robert Troch (JunCtian Community Initiatives)

Municipal Liaison

Tom Allwood (Municipality of Grey Highlands Councillor)

Chamber Administrator

Michelle Patey (Impress Communications)

Meet our Directors

Karen Cox, Chamber President 2021-22

Miguel Cardenas, Director 2021-22

Miguel joined the Chamber Board in 2021. In addition, he sits on the Board’s Christmas Comittee.

Miguel is a representative of Schooley Mitchell, the largest independent cost reduction consulting firm in North America, with offices from coast-to-coast in the United States and Canada. On average, the firm reduces essential business service expenses by 28% and has delivered over $360 million in documented savings for over 25,000 clients to date.

Passionate about saving money for his clients and helping them grow their business, Miguel delivers expertise to companies of all sizes from all industries, offering a broad range of services including telecom, waste, merchant services, shipping, utilities, fuel, e-signature and electronic logging devices.

Reuben McCallum, Director 2021-22

Born in the GTA and raised in Grey Highlands, Reuben has spent his time assisting in the management of his family’s equestrian business/facility.

In 2016, Reuben joined the Rotaract Highlanders and sat as President from 2017 to 2019 and on the board of directors as past President from 2020 to 2022. He is currently enrolled in the Toronto Metroplitan University’s Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Management program. He believes that community is second only to family and providing an opportunity to local young entrepreneurs and professionals is key to the continued success of rural Ontario.

Grey Highlands is becoming a great place for new businesses and Reuben hopes to use his position with the Chamber to advocate for sound economic development policy at the municipal and provincial levels and promote the best interests of all businesses in Grey Highlands.

Reuben joined the Board in 2021. He sits on the Marketing & Communications Committee.

Darrin Patey, Chamber Secretary 2019-20, 2020-21, 2021-22; Director 2018-Present

As an independent Industrial Designer, Darrin has been designing and project-managing consumer and business products into production for nearly 3 decades. As a community member, along with his wife Michelle, and supported by their daughter Rebecca, and the local community, he has advocated to save Beavercrest Community School from closure, and Grey Gables from being privatized.

Going forward, Darrin want to be an integral member of our great community – being a Chamber Board member is a wonderful place to begin. He looks forward to serving our business community, and especially our Chamber membership.

Darrin sits on the Board’s New Events Committee.

Michelle Patey, Chamber Administrator

Michelle joined the Chamber’s Executive in 2018, taking on the role of Board Secretary, and becoming a member of its Economic Development Committee and Chair of its Communications Committee, that year. From 2019 into early 2020, Michelle became Acting Vice-President and then Vice-President, ultimately leaving those volunteer positions to take on the role of Chamber Administrator in the spring of 2020. Michelle was an active member of the Markedale Recreation Committee until early 2022, when she reworked her spare time to join West Grey’s Economic Development Advisory Committee. She is the Owner/Operator of 20-year-old Impress Communications, offering full-service writing, editing, proofreading, and print project management. Michelle has resided just outside Markdale since 2012, with her husband Darrin and daughter Rebecca.

Trained as a marketer, writer, and editor, and driven to connect people and ideas, Michelle can often be found at events around Grey Highlands, either as a supporter or as an organizer. Michelle desires to see her community strong, vibrant, and confident about its future.